Hello Steve!

(Idag fick Jesper och Anna-Lena ett mail från en kille i USA som vill ha en valp och efter ett litet missförstånd skulle jag bara vilja klargöra en sak för honom.)

I just have to explain to you how it is to know an old danish poiniting dog, because from what I know it is beautiful!
I had my own one for a while but because of her illness i had to put her down, but I had her for more than a year and during that time I also spent alot of time at Kennel Nei's (at the time they had 8 old danish pointing dogs). I have met more than 40 different old danish pointing dogs and i have never met that many dogs of one breed that all are so happy and outgoing. Some of the dogs have some issues, sure, but that is not because of their breed! Some dogowners don't dicsipline their dogs consistently enough, and that is ofcourse the case in all breeds.
Last summer we had a gathering where all of the old danish pointing dogs (and their owners)from Kennel Nei's where invited, 23 dogs where there and I met them all.
Three of the dogs where in heat and we still had no fights what so ever even when we let them run loose together.
The thing that I really want to say is that all dogs are a product of their environment as well as a product of breeding.
There are shy dogs in every breed, and also in this breed but over all the dogs are really happy and playfull.
Dogs have to be trained to accept the environment around them and when the owner of the dog fail to do so, then you get a shy and stressed out dog.

The woman you talked to who said that Triztan is a exceptionally happy dog or that it is unusual for an old danish pointing dog to be happy has clearly not met alot of them and also she probably don't know the owners to well either. I know that it isn't  true, I know for a fact that they are wonderfull dogs and everyone (except for one) that I have met that owns one love them.
That one person that isn't happy with their dog is unhappy because he is TO outgoning and happy, and because he simply can't controll him. Because he hasn't disiplined the dog and set boundries.

I really dont want to be harsh or something lite that i just want to clarify the missunderstanding that an old danish pointing dog would be a shy breed. They can sometimes be reserved against strangers but that is just healthy common sense and I wouldn't want a dog without it.

Thank you for your time, here commes some pictures of the dogs.


From the back is Uffe (Elins halfbrother), Nikki (Triztans mother) and Elin


Holger (Triztans halfbrother)



Triztan playing


Me (Carin) and my baby Raija at the age of 4 months

Kommentarer
Postat av: Steve

It was so refreshing to hear what you had to say. I can hardly wait for my new companion. I think about it constantly. I so appreciate the wonderful people that I have had an opportunity to communicate with from your wonderful country. Thank you so very much for your note and pictures. Steve

2009-02-19 @ 22:51:35
Postat av: Steve

Hello Carin, do you know if the old Danish pointer sheds more than, less than, or the same as a english pionter or english setter. Also if you have any training tips that you might offer in developing a Old Danish Pointer puppy.

Thank you, Steve

2009-02-20 @ 14:29:27

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0